PROKOFIEV: Romeo & Juliet


1 Blu-ray - Mariinsky MAR0552
Bookmark and Share

Mariinsky Ballet, Mariinsky Orchestra, Valery Gergiev
original title: Prokofiev: Romeo & Juliet / Gergiev [bd/dvd]

Excl. Tax: £29.16 Incl. Tax: £34.99

Availability: . In stock

Add to Wishlist

Product Description


technical comment

  • Leonid Lavrovsky’s celebrated production of Prokofiev’s 'Romeo and Juliet', is released for the first time in HD, and in a Double Play, blu-ray and DVD package. Filmed in the historic Mariinsky Theatre in 2013, it stars Mariinsky ballet dancers Diana Vishneva, Vladimir Shklyarov, Alexander Sergeyev, Islom Baimurado, Ilya Kuznetsov and is conducted by Valery Gergiev.
    Lavrovsky’s realisation was created at the Mariinsky Theatre in January 1940, and the staging has been treasured in St. Petersburg ever since and this production still honours that original version. Guided by the dramatic force and lyrical power of Prokofiev’s score, Lavrovsky’s choreography creates a grandly moving portrait of the star-crossed lovers and the Renaissance society which frames their tragedy.
    Diana Vishneva [Juliet] is a prize-winner of numerous awards, including the People’s Artist of Russia (2007) title and receipient of the State Prize of Russia (2000), as well as founder of the Diana Vishneva Foundation (2010). Her title roles with the Mariinsky ballet include Giselle (Giselle), Nikia in the live cinema broadcast of 'La Bayadère' and Aurora (The Sleeping Beauty). Multiple award winner, Vladimir Shklyarov [Romeo], won 1st prize at the XI International Ballet and Choreography Competition in the “Solo” category (Moscow, 2009). His
    repertoire with the Mariinsky includes James (La Sylphide), Count Albrecht (Giselle) and Prince Désiré (The Sleeping Beauty). He has also recently starred in 'La Bayadère' which was screened across the globe.
  • Mariinsky Ballet
    Mariinsky Orchestra
    Valery Gergiev

    Juliet: Diana Vishneva
    Romeo: Vladimir Shklyarov
    Mercutio: Alexander Sergeyev
    Tybalt: Ilya Kuznetsov
    Benvolio: Islom Baimurado

    28th July-16th August
    Royal Opera House, Covent Garden
    Mariinsky Ballet Summer Season
    28-30th August
    Mariinsky Opera perform 'The Trojans' at
    Edinburgh Festival
  • 1 Blu-ray - 2h 32mn 0s
    upc/ean. 822231855224
    ref. MAR0552
    release date. 2014-09-15

We also recommend

  • TCHAIKOVSKY: The Nutcracker, Symphony No. 4

    Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker, Symphony 4 / Gergiev

    Excl. Tax: £16.66 Incl. Tax: £19.99
    RACHMANINOV: Symphony No 1

    Rachmaninov: Symphony No.1 / Gergiev

    Excl. Tax: £8.33 Incl. Tax: £9.99
    PROKOFIEV: Semyon Kotko

    Prokofiev: Semyon Kotko / Gergiev

    Excl. Tax: £28.33 Incl. Tax: £33.99