LOrfeo (DVD)

2 DVD - harmonia mundi HMD9909003/04
Bookmark and Share

René Jacobs
original title: MONTEVERDI. L'Orfeo (DVD)
collection: harmonia mundi France

Excl. Tax: £24.99 Incl. Tax: £29.99

Usually shipped within 7 days

Add to Wishlist

Product Description


technical comment


  • The fusion of dance and opera.

    First seen at La Monnaie in Brussels on 13 May 1998, this production of Monteverdi's L'Orfeo seen through the eyes of Trisha Brown and René Jacobs has become an operatic classic in a few short years. This is doubtless because it offers a total symbiosis of music, text and movement – described by the critic of the Daily Telegraph of London as being ‘as close to the perfect dance opera as I have ever seen'. Or to quote Gilles Macassar in Télérama: ‘In the pit and onstage, the Brussels production has only one watchword: mobility, nimbleness, dexterity. The singers run, fly, whirl like dancers defying gravity. From the flies down to the footlights, the whole theatre is under a fantastic spell.' For Christophe Vetter, on ConcertoNet: ‘This Orfeo can be seen again and again with immense pleasure. . . . René Jacobs's conducting continues to arouse admiration for its precision, its stylistic rigour, its inexhaustible inventiveness and its feeling for the contrasts so vital to this repertoire.'

    Also includes ‘Behind the scenes of L'Orfeo', a 52-minute documentary on the René Jacobs-Trisha Brown production.

    Subtitles including English & Italian libretto

    16/9e / NTSC / PCM Stereo / DTS 5.0
  • René Jacobs

    René Jacobs
    Simon Keenlyside
    Juanita Lascarro
    Graciela Oddone
    Martina Dike
    Stephen Wallace
    Tomas Tómasson
    Paul Gérimon
    Mauro Utzeri
    Anne Cambier
    Yann Beuron
    John Bowen
    René Linnenbank
    Concerto Vocale
    Collegium Vocale Gent

  • 2 DVD - 2h 50mn 0s
    upc/ean. 794881818792
    ref. HMD9909003/04
    release date. 2006-12-01

We also recommend

  • MONTEVERDI: Madrigali guerrieri ed amorosi

    Monteverdi: Madrigali Guerrieri ed Amorosi, Bk 8 /…

    Excl. Tax: £14.16 Incl. Tax: £16.99
    HAYDN: Symphonies Nos 91 & 92 / Scena di Berenice

    Haydn: Symphonies Nos. 91 & 92

    Excl. Tax: £5.83 Incl. Tax: £6.99
    CAVALLI: La Calisto

    Cavalli: La Calisto


    Special Price: Excl. Tax: £8.33 Incl. Tax: £9.99