Sound Art @ Het Apollohuis

Excerpts of concert recordings 1980-1995

2 CD - Wergo WER2069-2
Bookmark and Share
Excl. Tax: £21.24 Incl. Tax: £25.49

Usually shipped within 7 days

Add to Wishlist

Product Description


technical comment

  • Between 1980 and 1997, artists presented a panoply of exhibitions, installations, performances, and concerts, and engaged in lively debate on art theory, at Het Apollohuis in Eindhoven, the Netherlands. Under the direction of founders Paul and Hélène Panhuysen, the building became an important centre for an avant-garde that bridged the visual arts and music. Since 2009, the archives of Het Apollohuis have been located at ZKM in Karlsruhe, where scholars are examining, documenting and preserving this valuable store of sound, text and pictorial materials.
    This edition presents excerpts from previously unpublished concert and performance recordings of important artists who appeared during the lifespan of Het Apollohuis. The first CD contains recordings of body related works including self built and invented instruments; the second CD is dedicated to - in the broadest sense of the word - sampling techniques being developped in the 1980s and 1990s.
  • Max Eastley
    Judy Dunaway
    Z'EV (Weisser)
    Akio Suzuki
    Jackson MacLow
    Hugh Davies
    Shelley Hirsch
    Alvin Lucier
    Mark Trayle
    Jim Pomeroy
    Paul DeMarinis
    Chris Mann
    Paul Panhuysen
    Jaap Blonk
    Bob Ostertag
    Thomas Köner
    Petr Kotik (John Cage)
    David Moss
    Ron Kuivila
    Phill Niblock
    Arnold Dreyblatt
    David Dramm
    Michael Gordon
    Rolf Julius.

    Max Eastley, Judy Dunaway, Z'EV (Weisser), Akio Suzuki, Jackson MacLow, Hugh Davies, Shelley Hirsch, Alvin Lucier, Mark Trayle, Jim Pomeroy, Paul DeMarinis, Chris Mann, Paul Panhuysen, Jaap Blonk, Bob Ostertag, Thomas Köner, Petr Kotik (John Cage), David Moss, Ron Kuivila, Phill Niblock, Arnold Dreyblatt, David Dramm, Michael Gordon, Rolf Julius.
  • 2 CD - 0h 0mn 2s
    upc/ean. 4010228206920
    ref. WER2069-2
    release date. 2011-09-05