Between Shadows

1 CD - Edition Records EDN1042
Bookmark and Share

original title: Reuben Fowler: Between Shadows

Excl. Tax: £13.33 Incl. Tax: £15.99

Availability: . In stock

Add to Wishlist

Product Description


technical comment

  • ‘Between Shadows’ is the debut album by award-winning trumpeter and composer Reuben Fowler. This is an album of huge ambition, delivered impeccably by an artist with a vision to match. Here is a young musician with plenty to say as both a player and a composer, however what‘s most impressive is his boldness and maturity in bringing together an ensemble of world-class musicians to create an album of huge breadth and poise. Featuring some of the most renowned and revered musicians in British jazz - including Stan Sulzmann, Jim Hart and Guy Barker (who conducts) - as well as US trumpet star Tom Harrell, Fowler's ensemble echoes the brilliance and invention evident in some of the great British big band leaders. Recorded flawlessly at Angel Studios, London, ‘Between Shadows’ is one of the most impressive all round debuts for some time.

    Reuben Fowler graduated from the Royal Academy of Music in 2012 as the second Winner of the Kenny Wheeler Award. He has also received the Musicians Benevolent Fund Peter Whittingham Award and an award from the Jazz Services Recording Support Scheme. To receive three such accolades in such a short period is evidence of Reuben’s potential as an emerging artist of huge natural talent. ‘Between Shadows’ is final confirmation that he will become a vital figure in British Jazz.


    Trumpets: Mike Lovatt, George Hogg, Percy Pursglove, Freddie Gavita, Andy Greenwood
    Woodwinds: Sam Mayne, James G Bateman, Joe Wright, George Crowley, Rob Cope
    Trombones: Gordon Campbell, Robbie Harvey, Kieran McLeod, Callum Au
    Rhythm: Alex Munk (g) Matt Robinson (p) Tom McCredie (b) Dave Hamblett (d), Barak Schmool- (Cajón- Track 6)
    Voice: Brigitte Beraha, Guillermo Rozenthuler
    Guests: Tom Harrell (fln/t), Stan Sulzmann (ss), Jim Hart (vib/gl)
    Conductor: Guy Barker
  • 1 CD
    upc/ean. 5065001530487
    ref. EDN1042
    release date. 2013-07-08