New Ansonia

1 CD - Edition Records EDN1062
Bookmark and Share

original title: Misha Mullov-Abbado: New Ansonia

Excl. Tax: £10.83 Incl. Tax: £12.99

Availability: . In stock

Add to Wishlist

Product Description


technical comment

  • New Ansonia is the debut album from bassist and composer Misha Mullov-Abbado, winner of the 2014 Kenny Wheeler Music Prize. Son of the late, great Italian conductor Claudio Abbado and Russian violinist Viktoria Mullova, British-born Mullov-Abbado grew up in a powerfully musical environment, a unique upbringing that has inspired Misha to create his own musical identity and tell his own compelling story. This, his debut album, demonstrates gifts that are uniquely his own and is full of unusual colours, leaps of imagination and a strong sense of character. New Ansonia clearly defines the path Misha intends to follow both as a composer and performer of exceptional ability. As Kenny Wheeler Music Prize judge Evan Parker put it, this is ‘the beginning of a journey of an outstanding individual’.

    To achieve his musical goals Misha has brought together a wealth of young talent from the vibrant and creative London jazz scene with a front line of alto saxophonist Matthew Herd and trombonist Tom Green and alongside him in the rhythm section YouTube sensation & Quincy Jones protégé Jacob Collier on keys and drummer Scott Chapman. With a strong sense of song, evolving with dramatic twists, shifting dynamics and moods, New Ansonia is an exceptional debut - colourful, bursting with character, grooves, melody and inventive soloing.

    12th Sept - King’s Place - London ALBUM LAUNCH
    20th Sept - Peterborough Jazz Club
    30th Sept - Sheffield Lescar
    2nd Oct - Bradford JATP
    21st Oct - Dempsey’s - Cardiff
    23rd Oct - Bristol Bebop Club
    20th Nov - Bath Burdell’s Yard
    22nd Nov - Deal Lighthouse
    28th Nov - Coventry Jazz Festival
    9th Dec - St Edmund’s London (City Music Foundation Series)

    MISHA MULLOV-ABBADO double bass
    MATTHEW HERD alto saxophone
    TOM GREEN trombone

    Additional musicians:
    JAMES DAVISON trumpet and flugelhorn (tracks 3 and 4)
    NICK GOODWIN electric guitar (tracks 4 and 5)
    VIKTORIA MULLOVA violin (track 7)
    MATTHEW BARLEY cello (track 7
  • 1 CD
    upc/ean. 5065001530708
    ref. EDN1062
    release date. 2015-08-28