Break the Balance

1 CD - Bee Pop BEEP002
Bookmark and Share

original title: Chloe Charles: Break the Balance

Excl. Tax: £13.33 Incl. Tax: £15.99

Usually shipped within 7 days

Add to Wishlist

Product Description


technical comment

  • A mere two years ago, a young Canadian singer-songwriter and self-taught classical guitarist released her debut EP, Little Green Bud. A fitting title, too, as it set the tone for a fully blossoming career that’s about to go off the scales with the release of Chloe Charles’ first full-length CD, Break The Balance. Since Little Green Bud, music critics and fans alike have been scurrying to put into words what it is that Chloe does. She’s that spellbindingly different. The press have likened Chloe to everyone from Björk to Billie Holiday, Amy Winehouse to Adele, Alicia Keys to Joni Mitchell. While this reflects her unfathomable range, it goes a long way towards describing why this singing sorceress’ musical magic defies any and all straitjackets of classification.

    Her discovery of classical guitar just a few short years ago fuelled a love for all things stringed and resonant, plotting a roadmap for a territory inhabited by cello, violin and bass – each song a mini-symphonic stopping point. Here, her penchant for orchestral soul pop and jazz – and a blend of many influences in-between – could happily co-exist within a timeless and ethereal soundscape.

    “[Chloe Charles] sings unique and colourful songwriter–pop songs with an introverted beauty of surprising clarity.” ROLLING STONE

    Chloe Charles UK Tour :
    (supporting Rodriguez)
    9 March - Bournemouth - BIC
    11 March - Birmingham - Symphony Hall
    13 March - London - Hammersmith Apollo
    (supporting Naturally 7)
    28 Feb - Manchester - RCNM Theatre and Concert Hall
    03 March - London - Union Chapel
    14 March - Southampton - Turner Sims
    15 March - Reading - Concert Hall
    16 March - Sheffield - City Hall
    17 March - Gateshead - Sage Gateshead
    18 March - Leeds - Grand Theatre


  • 1 CD - 0h 39mn 40s
    upc/ean. 3760002142371
    ref. BEEP002
    release date. 2014-02-10