Don't Think Twice

1 CD - Edition Records EDN1022
Bookmark and Share

original title: Tamco : Don't Think Twice

Excl. Tax: £13.33 Incl. Tax: £15.99

Availability: . In stock

Add to Wishlist

Product Description


technical comment

  • 'Don't Think Twice' is the powerfully evocative debut album from Bristol-based vocalist, Tammy Payne, and her new project Tamco. Payne, who is probably best known for her work with legendary drum 'n' bass and trip-hop pioneers Smith and Mighty but can also be found writing psychedelic folk with Jukes or collaborating with the likes of John Parish has drawn upon her home town's vibrant music scene to create a unique new band. Drawing on influences from Tom Waits to Nick Cave and Julie Driscol to Roberta Flack, Tamco was born out of late night whiskies and a shared love of '50s and '60s jazz. The band features some of Bristol's most creative and innovative musicians, maverick bassist Jim Barr (Portishead, Get The Blessing), guitarist Neil Smith (Liftmen), keyboardist Dan Moore (Andy Shepperd) and drummer Dylan Howe (Nick Cave, Damon Albarn, Portishead and Robert Wyatt).

    "Tammy Payne has an evocative, soulful voice and a way of re-telling a story. Wonderfully skewed, stripped down and psychedelic". MOJO ****

    Bristol singer Payne and her band of crack jazz-blues men bring startlingly original twists to songs by Dylan, Dolly Parton, Leonard Cohen and others on this admirable debut". DAILY MIRROR ****

  • Tamco

    Tammy Payne - vocals
    Jim Barr - bass
    Dan Moore - hammond organ
    Neil Smith - guitar
    Dylan Howe - drums

  • 1 CD - 0h 47mn 46s
    upc/ean. 5065001530173
    ref. EDN1022
    release date. 2010-09-20