PURCELL: Come all ye songsters

Recorded live at Wigmore Hall, London, on 17 March 2015

1 CD - Wigmore Hall Live WHLIVE0083
Bookmark and Share

Carolyn Sampson,
original title: Come all ye songsters / Carolyn Sampson

Excl. Tax: £8.33 Incl. Tax: £9.99

Availability: . In stock

Add to Wishlist

Product Description


technical comment

  • Carolyn Sampson has enjoyed notable success worldwide in repertoire ranging from early Baroque to the present day. She is in high demand by leading opera companies around the world, and regularly makes recital appearances too. Following the success of her first release ‘Not Just Dowland’, [WHLIVE0034] we are now delighted to present her second release on the Wigmore Hall Live label. She is joined by some of Britain’s most exciting exponents of historical performance – lutenist Elizabeth Kenny, harpsichordist Laurence Cummings, and viol player Jonathan Manson.

    This leading ensemble examines the colourful world of Purcell songs. Unlike his European counterparts, Purcell was unused to traditionally operatic terms and was unconstrained by them. Ignorance was certainly bliss in this case; for him ‘Song’ was a performers’ medium. Thoughout the course of this recital, recorded live at Wigmore Hall, we hear the musicians discovering and revealing the meaning of the texts, as they bring to life the works with sensitivity and charm.

    1 Come all ye songsters, 2 Sing while we trip it, 3 A dance of fairies (instr.), 4 Ye gentle spirits of the air
    [The Fairy Queen Z629]
    5-9 Harpsichord suite no. 5 in C major (with Jig) Z666 (instrumental)
    10 The cares of lovers from Timon of Athens Z632, 11 Fly swift, ye hours Z369
    12 Not all my torments Z400, 13 Giovanni Battista DRAGHI: An Italian Ground
    14 From rosy bow’rs, 15 Let the dreadful Engines of Eternal Will [Don Quixote Z578]
    16-17 Music from the guitar book of Princess Anne (instrumental):
    Mystery, If love's a sweet passion from The Fairy Queen
    18 ANON: Minuet, 19 CORBETTA: Passacaille, 20 I see she flies me from Aureng-Zebe Z573,
    21 What a sad fate is mine Z428a, 22 Pious Celinda goes to prayers Z410,
    23 SIMPSON: Divisions on a ground from The Division Viol (instrumental)
    24 'Tis Nature's Voice [Hail, bright Cecilia Z328]
    25 Lucinda is bewitching fair [Abdelazar, or The Moor’s Revenge Z570]
    26 Hark! The echoing air [The Fairy Queen]
    27 spoken intro to encore 28 I attempt from Love's sickness to fly [The Indian Queen Z630]
    29 spoken intro to encore 30 Fairest isle [King Arthur Z628/38]
  • Carolyn Sampson

    Carolyn Sampson [soprano]
    Elizabeth Kenny [lute]
    Jonathan Manson [viol]
    Laurence Cummings [harpsichord]
  • 1 CD - 1h 17mn 40s
    upc/ean. 5065000924843
    ref. WHLIVE0083
    release date. 2016-06-10

We also recommend

  • HANDEL: Solomon, oratorio in three acts

    Handel: Solomon / Daniel Reuss

    Excl. Tax: £14.16 Incl. Tax: £16.99
    POULENC: Stabat Mater

    Francis Poulenc : Stabat Mater


    Special Price: Excl. Tax: £8.33 Incl. Tax: £9.99

    Not just Dowland: Carolyn Sampson

    Not just Dowland: Carolyn Sampson

    Excl. Tax: £8.33 Incl. Tax: £9.99