Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny

Music by Kurt Weill (1900-1950), Libretto by Bertolt Brecht, Translated into English by Michael Feingold

1 DVD - Bel Air Classiques BAC067
Bookmark and Share
Excl. Tax: £23.74 Incl. Tax: £28.49

Usually shipped within 7 days

Add to Wishlist

Product Description


technical comment

  • Bel Air present the hard-hitting new production of Kurt Weill's Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny by Catalan collective, La Fura dels Baus, from the Teatro Real de Madrid.
    Composed in the 1930s by Kurt Weill and Bertolt Brecht, this is a mordant satire on capitalism in a society in which the ultimate crime is not having money.
    The production, by Alex Ollé and Carlus Padrissa of La Fura dels Baus, combines enormous inventiveness, joy and energy with awe-inspiring ferocity.
    Perfect casting brings together a group of singers who are also marvellous actors. The Teatro Real Orchestra and Chorus are directed by young Spanish conductor Pablo Heras-Casado, who received the "El Ojo Crítico" prize in 2010, awarded annually to Spain's most outstanding artists.
    La Fura was founded in 1979 as a Catalan street theatre group. Key features of the 'Furan' language were already apparent: interaction with the audience, the use of unusual spaces and the adaptation of the show to the characteristics of each space. Their work for the opening ceremonies of the 1992 Olympic Games in Barcelona, Mediterráneo, mar olímpico brought La Fura dels Baus to an audience of billions throughout the world. Their first foray into opera was with La Atlántida with frequent collaborator Jaume Plensa, and has developed as far as Wagner's Ring Cycle and Boris Godunov, a daring reflection on the problem of terrorism, its limits and the manipulation it generates.
    Stunning images and more information on www.lafura.com
  • Jane Henschel
    Willard White
    Measha Brueggergosman
    Michael König
    Pablo Heras-Casado
    Stage direction Alex Ollé
    Carlus Padrissa - La Fura dels Baus

  • 1 DVD - 2h 18mn 0s
    upc/ean. 3760115300675
    ref. BAC067
    release date. 2011-10-03

We also recommend

  • TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 1 'Winter Dreams', The Tempest

    Tchaikovsky: Symphony No.1 / Pablo Heras-Casado

    Excl. Tax: £14.16 Incl. Tax: £16.99
    SCHUMANN: Cello Concerto, Piano Trio No. 1

    Schumann: Cello Concerto


    Special Price: Excl. Tax: £8.33 Incl. Tax: £9.99

    MENDELSSOHN: Symphonies 3 & 4

    Mendelssohn: Symphonies 3 & 4

    Excl. Tax: £14.16 Incl. Tax: £16.99